To invite someone to a sidebar means to invite them to a 1-on-1 chat in a room without any other people in it. Click their name in the sidebar or click their name on their video feed, then click "Let's sidebar!" This will send an invite to the recipient, which they can accept or reject. If they accept, both you and the recipient will be moved to your own new room together.